Bulltown was an early commercial and industrial center founded by Colonel Thomas Bull. Shortly after his retirement as manager of Warwick Furnace in 1780, Bull erected a large fieldstone mansion, known thereafter as “Mount Pleasant." As part of his settlement, Bull also constructed a tenant house, blacksmith shop, saw/grist mill and two lime kilns. Mount Pleasant still stands proudly on the east side of Bulltown Road. The primary goal of this project was to serve as a benchmark for the preservation of open space within the French Creek Valley. A local builder with strong community ties and a love of the land assembled a team that would be able to create an example of how – when there is so much development pressure – to protect the heritage of Chester County for future generations.
The design concept was to limit the number of units and cluster the development on a small wooded knoll. The farmland was converted into a golf course with natural meadows to preserve both the open vistas and the character of the rural landscape.
The project team sought to produce something that was timeless and brought lasting value to the area by reflecting and honoring the cultural landscape and incorporating vernacular architecture that embodies the historic styles of the region. The visual and environmental impact of the new construction was minimized, in keeping with the concept of stewardship and responsibility embraced by the builder.